2018 FIFA World Cup Draw

The draw for the group stage of the 2018 FIFA World Cup will take place on Friday. Teams will find out the groups they will be in and the teams they will line up against next year at the State Kremlin Palace in Moscow, Russia.

There will be viewing coverage in both the UK and U.S., with the event also available to stream on different platforms. Viewers will get to see who joins host nation Russia in Group A, while reigning champions Germany and second seed Brazil will be among the nation eagerly awaiting who they’ll face during the tournament.

Date: Friday, December 1

Time: 3 p.m. GMT. 10 a.m. ET.

TV Info: BBC Two, Fox Sports 1.

         The draw will see all competing nations split into four pots based on seedings determined by FIFA’s official rankings. Teams will then be drawn into Groups from A-H, with the only rule being sides from outside UEFA can’t be drawn together in the same group.

It means South American rivals Brazil and Argentina can only meet during the knockout phase. The knockout rounds will feature the top two teams from each group in the last 16.

The highly anticipated draw for the 2018 World Cup finals kicks off in Moscow on Friday afternoon and BBC Two will be covering all the action from 3pm.

The Match of the Day and BT Sport football host Gary Lineker, who has faced criticism for taking on the role after previously speaking out against Fifa over its various corruption scandals, will be co-presenting with the Russian journalist Maria Komandnaya.

World Cup finals: create your own draw for Russia 2018 – interactive
Read more
The 32 teams who have qualified will be split into eight four-team groups, drawn from four pots. The groups will contain one team from each pot.

Teams have been placed in the pots according to their position in the Fifa world rankings for October. The exception to that are the hosts Russia, who are automatically in pot one.

So Pot One contains the seven highest-ranked teams plus Russia, pot two has the next eight teams in the rankings, and so on. England are in pot two.

England can face only one other European team as there can be a maximum of two European sides per group. No other football confederation can have more than one team in a group, so no South American sides will go head-to-head in the group phase for example.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *